Rockwall County first responders honored at Rotary

(ROCKWALL, TX – May 17, 2017) The Rockwall Noon Rotary Club honored a group of Rockwall County first responders who have exhibited an exceptional level of service to their respective communities over the past year. The following first responders were recognized at the Rotary meeting last week:

Fate Department of Public Safety Officer of the Year Tyler Smith
Rockwall Fire Department Firefighter of the Year Eddy Foster
Rockwall Police Department Officer of the Year Jeff Lutes
Rockwall EMS Paramedic of the Year Rowdie Adams
Rockwall County Sheriff’s Office Honoree of the Year Lieutenant Valerie Hobbs

About the honorees

Fate DPS Assistant Chief Jim Simmons (L) and Fate DPS Officer of the Year Tyler Smith

OIC/PSO Tyler Smith began his career with Fate Department of Public Safety in January 2016. In his short time with the department he’s received two commendations for his professionalism and dedication to law enforcement, implemented a Traffic Enforcement program for Fate DPS and is the department’s top officer when it comes to DWI enforcement. Smith is an asset to our Department and we look forward to continuing to watch him advance in his career.

Rockwall Fire Department Assistant Chief Brett Merritt (L) and Firefighter of the Year Eddy Foster

Eddy Foster has been with the fire department since 1982 and is the third longest tenured member of the department. He’s been a Dallas firefighter for the past 37 years, and has served the Rockwall Fire Department in every capacity including volunteer chief, volunteer assistant chief, and second assistant chief.

Rockwall Police Department Chief Kirk Riggs (L) and Officer of the Year Jeff Lutes

Jeff Lutes is a 2006 graduate of Rockwall High School and graduate of Oklahoma Baptist University. He started with the Rockwall Police Department in June 2010 and is currently assigned to the department’s deployment unit combating property crimes on the I-30 corridor. He also has a secondary assignment as one of the department’s tactical operators.

Rockwall EMS President Tom Wolf (L) and Paramedic of the Year Rowdie Adams

Rowdie Adams has been with Rockwall EMS for two years and holds many certifications in the emergency medical services field, including certified paramedic; certified critical care paramedic from the University of Maryland in Baltimore County; certified flight paramedic; instructor for advanced cardiac life support, basic life support, neonatal resuscitation, and pediatric advanced life support.

Rockwall County Sheriff Harold Eavenson (L) and Sheriff's Office Honoree of the Year Lieutenant Valerie Hobbs

Valerie Hobbs began her law enforcement career in 2004 with the Kaufman County Sheriff’s Office. She was promoted to the rank of sergeant after four years with Kaufman County. She graduated from the Texas Peace Officers Academy in 2007, joined the Rockwall County Sheriff’s Office in 2008 as a Detentions Officer and was promoted to Corporal in 2010. She was then promoted to Sergeant in 2012, and to Lieutenant of the Detentions Division in 2015. She has completed 1,100 hours of continued education and recently received her advanced jailers license and mental health officer certification.

By Austin Wells, Blue Ribbon News. Photos by Richard Redig, Blue Ribbon News.

Our monthly print edition is delivered free to 19,000+ homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or .