Rockwall and Rockwall-Heath students named as National Merit Scholarship Semifinalists

(ROCKWALL, TX — September 14, 2017) Six students from Rockwall HS and Rockwall-Heath HS were recently named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists: Parker Bassett (RHS), Daria Coutch (RHHS), Kevin DeMars (RHS), Anna Evers (RHHS), Victoria Huang (RHHS) and Kyle Sherrod (RHHS).

Kevin DeMars and Parker Bassett
Kyle Sherrod, Victoria Huang, Anna Evers and Daria Coutch

Approximately 1.6 million students across the country took the qualifying test and only 16,000 qualified for this high honor, placing them in the top 1% of all students in the nation.

There are three types of National Merit Scholarships: 2,500 National Merit Scholarships of $2,500, 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced beginning in April 2018.

Submitted press release.

Our monthly print edition is delivered free to 19,000+ homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or .