Commissioners Court honors Rockwall County sheriff, Boys/Girls State delegates

(ROCKWALL, TX – July 12, 2018) The Commissioners Court recognized Rockwall County’s leading lawman, Sheriff Harold Eavenson, with a proclamation during its regular meeting on Tuesday, July 10.

In honor of Eavenson’s service to law enforcement as sheriff of the county and as president of the National Sheriffs’ Association (NSA), Rockwall County Judge David Sweet read a proclamation recognizing July 10, 2018 as Sheriff Harold Eavenson Recognition Day in Rockwall County.

Eavenson has served as sheriff of Rockwall County for 17 years, and recently concluded a year of service as president of the NSA during the NSA Annual Conference in New Orleans on June 15-20. As NSA president, Eavenson actively represented 3,088 sheriffs in the nation, making a total of 34 trips to attend state associations, executive director conferences, Border Sheriffs Coalition meetings, and the Western State Sheriffs’ Association Conference. He also attended meetings with Attorney General Jeff Sessions on three occasions to discuss issues sheriffs face daily. Alongside other sheriffs, he made three trips to Washington, D.C. to meet with the President of the United States to discuss issues such as border security, mental health challenges pertaining to jails, asset forfeiture, and the nation’s opioid crisis.

Eavenson is only the fifth sheriff from Texas to serve as NSA president, and the first Texas sheriff in nearly two decades to serve in that capacity.

“It’s pretty cool to be able to say that our sheriff is Harold Eavenson. We thank you for your commitment to our county, and for everything you have accomplished for our state and our nation,” Sweet said.

Sweet also read a letter to Eavenson from U.S. Senator Ted Cruz, who rode in last week’s City of Rockwall Independence Day Parade in which Eavenson served as the grand marshal.

“Your devotion to making our nation safe via partnership with county sheriffs and the local communities has earned the admiration and gratitude of Texans,” the letter stated. “We are indebted to you for the work you have done to serve and protect our state and our nation, while promoting professional standards that have left a lasting impact on the law enforcement community.”

Eavenson was presented with flags flown over the U.S. Capitol and Texas State Capitol buildings courtesy of the offices of U.S. Congressman John Ratcliffe and State Senator Bob Hall. State Rep. Justin Holland also presented Eavenson with a flag and a Constitutional Texas chair in his honor.

The Commissioners Court also recognized a group of high school juniors who participated in the American Legion Boys State/Girls State camp this summer.

Each year through fundraisers and donations, the American Legion Terry Fisher Post 117 of Rockwall funds delegates to attend the Boys/Girls State camps. In June this year, the Post sponsored eight boys and 10 girls to Boys State and Bluebonnet Girls State. Schools represented were Rockwall High School, Rockwall-Heath High School and Heritage Christian Academy. Boys State was held at the University of Texas in Austin and Bluebonnet Girls State was held at Texas Lutheran University in Seguin.

The students were divided into subgroups known as “cities” where the “citizens” of each city elected mock municipal officials and representatives to the mock state legislature. Through the program, the student participants learned all about every single facet of government, including how to write bills, vote and hold elections within the county, city and state levels.

“We are so proud of our Boys State and Girls State delegates this year,” said Lorna Kipphut of Post 117. “These boys and girls worked very hard and represented Rockwall, their schools and the Terry Fisher Post in an exemplary manner.”

Story and photos by Austin Wells, Blue Ribbon News.

Our monthly print edition is delivered free to ~20,000 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or .