Rockwall Noon Rotary awards scholarships

(Rockwall) June 27, 2013 – The Rockwall Noon Rotary Club recently honored this year’s Rockwall High School and Rockwall Heath High School college scholarships recipients.

Since 2005 the club has given out $130,000 in scholarships. The $10,000 Rockwall High School scholarship went to Alexis Catinchi who will be attending Arizona State University and the Rockwall Heath High School beneficiary was Andrea Alvarez.

Since 1975, the service organization has awarded college scholarships. At his year’s scholarship luncheon, the club’s first beneficiary, Jim Pennington, was in attendance to witness the evidence of the club’s enduring benevolent spirit. Pennington has recently joined with noon Rotarians in mentoring RISD students.

For 24 years the Rotary Club has hosted the popular Hot Rocks Bike Ride. The proceeds are used for the yearly scholarships. This year’s cycling event will be held on August 10, 2013 for more info

Head chairman for RHS AND RHHS:  Jennifer Moran

RHS Scholarship Committee: Jean Abernathy, Chairperson,  Jon Bailey, Nancy Beaty,  Diego Blanco, Bill Cecil, Frank Miller, Susan Satterwhite, Bill Sinclair, Peg Smith, David Sweet, Jack Abernathy, Barbara Allan, Cheryl Taylor and Jen Moran

RHHS Scholarship Committee: Rob Whittle, Chairman, Chuck Bealmear, Dave Butler, John Curtis, Tim Hartley, Brad Lamberth, Lorne Liechty, Stan Lowrance and Jen Moran.

In addition, The Rockwall Rotary Foundation manages the Robert and Cis Hawk Scholarships. Since 2005 $702,000 total has been awarded, $546,000 to students and $156,000 to the teachers whom each student cites as the one that had the most impact on their lives. This year the 12 students and teachers who were awarded the Robert & Cis Hawk Scholarships were:

Rockwall-Heath High School

Students                                               Teachers

Keith Allen                                          Linda Rogers

Austin James                                     Kimberly  Blain

McKenna Perez                                Laura Beene

Caroline McCallum                          Linda Rogers

Rebekah Gerritsen                          Kimberly Card

Lindsay Archuleta                           Cathryn Albrecht

 Rockwall High School

Students                                              Teachers

Sawyer Knight                                   Michelle Pauken

Gaines Kinsey                                    Toby Howell

Brennan Bassett                               Liz White

Morgan Reynolds                            Melinda Lewis

Ivette Colunga                                  Anna Campbell

Julia Sealock                                       Liz White

The Robert and Cis Hawk Scholarship Committee members are: Sheri Franza, chairman, Robert and Cis Hawk, Harold Eavenson, Terry Garrett, Lorie Grinnan, Dr. LeMaster, Tom Maglisceau, Mark Moeller, Ed Thatcher and Brian Williams.

The Rockwall Noon Rotary Club looks forward to continuing their Service Above Self mission in the coming years.

Submitted by Nancy Beaty.

If you liked this story, please click here to LIKE our Facebook page, so we can reach more people with good news like this!  To share your good news and events, email .