Rockwall Chamber recognizes local businesses, individuals at Annual Awards Banquet

(ROCKWALL, TX – Jan. 25, 2017) The Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce hosted its Yee Haw! Annual Awards Banquet for a record crowd last night at Southern Junction Nightclub and Steakhouse, recognizing the outstanding contributions of area businesses and individuals to our community and to the local economy. Presented by Cavender’s, the event include a VIP room, steak dinner, live music, and awards presentation.

The nominees and winners are noted below:

Best Practices in Community Involvement

This award showcases a company that demonstrates a commitment to community involvement and philanthropy as a part of their core business values.

1. Alliance Bank
2. American National Bank
3. Honda Cars of Rockwall
4. Southwest Kia- Rockwall – WINNER
5. Willis Fine Jewelry

Best Practices in Customer Service

This award showcases a company whose customer service has resulted in an increase of client satisfaction, client retention, referrals and/or profits.

1. Baker Bros Plumbing
2. Ebby Halliday Realtors – WINNER
3. LoneStar Timeshare Transfer
4. Mellow Mushroom
5. The Joe Wimpee Agency

Emerging Business of the Year

This award recognizes an emerging company that has demonstrated a capacity for creativity and innovation and experienced growth. This company has demonstrated a true entrepreneurial spirit and overall contribution to the community.

1. Lindsay Mitchell- Ebby Halliday Realtor
2. NTX Indoor Digital Billboards
3. Rockwall Makerspace
4. Selfies on Canvas
5. Smallcakes – WINNER

Corporate Business Partner of the Year

This award honors an organization that has made a significant economic impact on our area and within the Chamber through leadership, marketing & strategic alliances, charitable (sponsorship) contributions. This award recognizes a company that has demonstrated business success and has displayed overall community development for the greater Rockwall area.

1. American National Bank
2. Baylor Scott White-Lake Pointe – WINNER
3. Honda Cars of Rockwall
4. Republic Services
5. Southwest Kia- Rockwall
6. Texas Health Presbyterian Hospital

Medium Size Business Partner of the Year

This award recognizes a mid-size business which has maintained stability over its business life for the operations and successes. Has made outstanding contributions during the past year to employees and the community. Has an excellent reputation and been a strong advocate to the community and the Chamber, and is recognized for integrating excellence and commitment to quality into their business structure.

1. Allegiance Title
2. Evexias Medical Center (aka Hormonal Health)
3. Guaranty Bank – WINNER
4. Guild Mortgage- Crystal Tatum
5. Z Constructors

Small Business Partner of the Year

This company is recognized for integrating excellence and commitment to quality as a core value and point of reference into their business structure. The award recognizes participation in community and Chamber-oriented projects, a proven track record, growth and sustainability of a company and a commitment to quality.

1. Brian Llewellyn Agency- State Farm Insurance
2. Dallas Glass & Door Co., LTD
3. Housewarmers of Rockwall County
4. Key Element Media – WINNER
5. Rockwall Wedding Chapel

Non-Profit of the Year

This award recognizes a registered not-for-profit organization who is a member of the Chamber and that has made an outstanding contribution to the social, cultural or economic well-being of the Rockwall Area while exhibiting stability, maintaining a good relationship with its volunteers and demonstrating best business practice.

1. Children’s Advocacy Center
2. Helping Hands of Rockwall
3. Meals on Wheels – WINNER
4. Soroptimist Rockwall
5. Women in Need

Young Professional of the Year

This award recognizes the efforts of an outstanding Rockwall Area Chamber young professional who demonstrates significant accomplishments in their career and has contributed to the business community with leadership and passion. The award is based on four criteria: Leadership, Mentorship, Community Involvement, and Entrepreneurship. To be eligible, a candidate must be a member of The Young Professionals of Rockwall in good standing.

1. Lance Logan
2. Sarah Kelley
3. Charlcie Kirkland
4. Shaun Kirkland
5. Katy Miller – WINNER

Spirit of Rockwall

This award honors a person whose character, conduct, service, leadership and achievements, personally and professionally, contribute to the current and future development of the Rockwall community.

1. Kevin Fowler
2. Sheri Franza
3. Mary Johnson – WINNER
4. Lindsey Mitchell
5. Larry Parks

Other special honors were given to:

Ambassador of the Year: Chuck Leblo

Director of the Year: David S. Mallard

Chamber Partner of the Year: Honda Cars of Rockwall

Lifetime Achievement: Mike Mishler 

Photos by Austin Wells and Richard Redig, Blue Ribbon News.


Our print edition is delivered free to 18,000+ homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

For advertising inquiries both online and in print, call 214-342-8000 or email .


Download the FREE Official Rockwall Area App for Apple iPhone or Android.