Historical Foundation unveils reconstructed rock wall

(ROCKWALL, TX – May 8, 2017)By now many know that Rockwall was named after the discovery of a mysterious rock wall that was unearthed in 1852 as Benjamin Boydstun, Terry Utley Wade, and William Clay Stevenson were digging a well.  As speculation continues regarding the wall’s origin – whether it’s a natural geologic formation or a man-made structure perhaps constructed by a prehistoric race – the Rockwall County Historical Foundation has brought a section of the wall to Harry Myers Park, 901 E. Washington, where it will remain on public display beside the RCHF Museum.

A ceremonial dedication was held Sunday, May 7, in memory of local historian Sheri Stodghill Fowler Parks. The reconstruction was made possible using stones from the rock wall discovery on her grandfather, W.W. Stodghill’s, farm. Special guests included Sheri’s mother, Patsy Stodghill, and Sheri’s husband, Stacy Parks.

The Rockwall High School Drum Line kicked off the ceremony and provided a drum roll for the unveiling. RCHF president gave opening remarks, followed by Rockwall Mayor Jim Pruitt and Rockwall County Judge David Sweet.

Guests were served boxed meals catered by the award-winning RHS culinary students, as Jerl Welch played harmonica tunes and Budd Pierce entertained the crowd with his unique brand of cowboy poetry.

By Dawn Redig, Blue Ribbon News.

Our monthly print edition is delivered free to 19,000+ homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or .