Historical Foundation installs new officers

From left: Austin Wells, Dick Clark, Ruth Sears, Leslie Milder, Peggy Atterberry, Mark Russo, Carolyn Francisco, Kaaren Mahoney, and Ada Mooney. Photo by Jan Self.

(ROCKWALL, TX — January 31, 2018) The Rockwall County Historical Foundation installed its new officers for 2018 during its annual meeting on Jan. 14 at Our House in Rockwall.

RCHF Member Leigh Plagens led the installation ceremony and welcomed Mark Russo as the Historical Foundation’s President; Leslie Milder as 1st Vice President (Membership); Patti Canup as 2nd Vice President (Programs); Carolyn Francisco as 3rd Vice President (Fundraising); Ada Mooney as Recording Secretary; Kaaren Mahoney as Treasurer; and Peggy Atterberry as Corresponding Secretary.

The Historical Foundation also recognized its Board of Directors heading into the new year:
Director 2 yr: Austin Wells
Director 2 yr: Ruth Sears
Director 1 yr: Dick Clark
Director 1 yr: Jan Self

On behalf of the Historical Foundation, Russo presented 2017 RCHF President Dennis Vierling with a historical road map of Texas and copies of historical paper currency – a token of appreciation for his leadership of the Foundation this past year.

“2017 has been a big year for the Historical Foundation, with Dennis as the big leader,” Russo said. “We’ve had the unveiling of the reconstructed Rock Wall, the relocation of the Bailey House, just so much has happened this past year, and it wouldn’t have been without the help of this board and the leadership that Dennis has provided. A road map is devised by its leader, and as a Director this past year, what you have brought to Rockwall County is greatly appreciated.”

From left: Ross Ramsey, Scott Self, Dennis Vierling and Jan Self.

With 2017 being such a historic year for the Foundation, the Board decided to recognize three individuals with the Outstanding Member Award for the first time in the Foundation’s history: Ross Ramsay, Scott Self and Dennis Vierling. To commemorate the occasion, Director Jan Self read aloud her own created version of the old nursery rhyme, “Rub-a-dub-dub.”

The Rockwall County Historical Foundation was organized January 16, 1978, with the main mission to preserve the heritage of Rockwall County. Twenty-one people attended the first meeting at the Chamber of Commerce building. Today’s members continue to make it their primary goal to pursue projects that will help preserve the area’s rich historical and cultural heritage.

Rockwall County Historical Foundation is a Texas non-profit organization, 501(c)3 which operates solely from membership dues, private contributions, grants and various fundraising activities.

The next installment of the Sheri Stodghill lecture series will be “Gone to Texas,” presented by Carolyn Francisco on Feb. 9. For more information visit rockwallcountyhistoricalfoundation.com.

By Austin Wells, Blue Ribbon News. 

Our monthly print edition is delivered free to ~20,000 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or .