Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Six local students named National Merit Scholarship Finalists

From left: Kyle Sherrod, Victoria Huang, Anna Evers and Daria Coutch

(ROCKWALL, TX Feb. 15, 2018) Six students from Rockwall High School and Rockwall-Heath High School were recently named National Merit Scholarship finalists: Parker Bassett (RHS), Daria Coutch (RHHS), Kevin DeMars (RHS), Anna Evers (RHHS), Victoria Huang (RHHS) and Kyle Sherrod (RHHS).

From left: Kevin DeMars and Parker Bassett

These students competed with 16,000 Semifinalists – placing them in the top 1% of all students in the nation –  to advance to the 15,000 at the Finalist level. All National Merit Scholarship winners will be selected from this group of Finalists. National Merit Scholarship winners will be announced beginning in April 2018 and are selected on the basis of their skills, accomplishments, and potential for success in rigorous college studies.

There are three types of National Merit Scholarships: 2,500 National Merit Scholarships of $2,500, 1,000 corporate-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards and 4,000 college-sponsored Merit Scholarship awards.

Submitted by Steven Offield, Rockwall ISD Communications. 

Our monthly print edition is delivered free to ~20,000 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or .