Widgetized Section

Go to Admin » Appearance » Widgets » and move Gabfire Widget: Social into that MastheadOverlay zone

Area Students Selected for Youth Leadership Organization

(ROCKWALL, TX – Sept. 14, 2018) Six new members have been selected for the City of Rockwall’s Youth Advisory Council (YAC) for the new school year. In addition, six members will return to the leadership organization. Every year, the Rockwall City Council sponsors YAC, which helps teach high school-aged students about local government, while providing them with opportunities to hone their leadership skills.

The new students for the 2018-2019 year include Nicholas Alverson, Kendall Braddock, Mazie Johnson, Peyton Nielsen, Kavya Venugopalan, and Susie Wilson. Returning students include Caleb Davis, Brenden Ivey, Addison Schale, Mary Claire Weible, Emily Williams, and Peter Yarborough.

YAC has an eventful year planned for the students to learn about various roles in municipal government. Some of the YAC activities for this year include teen court training, team building exercises, and presentations from Animal Services, the Police Department, a Building Inspector, the Health Inspector, and a discussion with the City of Fate about managing explosive growth. In the spring, the members will attend a summit, where they learn from other YAC students throughout the state. At the conclusion of the program, the students present a summary of their YAC experiences and graduating seniors are honored by the Rockwall City Council.

Submitted press release by Lauri Dodd, Public Information Officer / Marketing, City of Rockwall. 

Our monthly print edition is delivered free to ~20,000 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or .