Rockwall County Judge David Sweet elected Secretary/Treasurer of NCTCOG Executive Board

ROCKWALL, TX (September 10, 2020) The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) Executive Board recently welcomed four newly elected officers and 13 directors during the NCTCOG’s 54th annual General Assembly, which was held virtually.

Rockwall County Judge David Sweet was elected Secretary/Treasurer of the 17-member NCTCOG Executive Board – the policy-making body of the Council of Governments which serves the 16 North Central Texas counties of Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant and Wise.

“The programs and services provided thru the North Central Texas Council of a Governments impact all citizens throughout North Texas. I’m honored to represent Rockwall County as the elected Secretary/Treasurer, and I look forward to working with officials throughout the entire region in planning for the future,” said Sweet.

Sweet has served as Rockwall County Judge since November 2014. Prior to that, he served four years as Mayor of the City of Rockwall, after being a member of City Council for two terms. He was employed as a Sales Manager for 20 years with Coca Cola and Bimbo Bakeries. Sweet has also served on the Board of Directors for the Rockwall Rotary Club and the Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce. In addition to being a member of the Rowlett and Royse City Chambers of Commerce, he is a former board member of Meals on Wheels Senior Services of Rockwall County, Boys & Girls Club, and the JER Chilton YMCA at Rockwall. He is also part of the broadcast team responsible for broadcasting Rockwall ISD sporting events. His two sons attend Rockwall schools.

Prosper Mayor Ray Smith was elected president of NCTCOG’s Executive Board, and will lead the board for the next 12 months. Smith assumes leadership of NCTCOG from Wise County Judge J.D. Clark, who will continue to serve on the NCTCOG Board as past president.

DeSoto Mayor Curtistene McCowan was elected vice president.

The 13 directors who were elected include: Dallas County Judge Clay Jenkins; Tarrant County Judge Glen Whitley; Collin County Judge Chris Hill; Denton County Commissioner Bobbie Mitchell; Dallas Councilmember Lee Kleinman; Fort Worth Councilmember Kelly Allen-Gray; Arlington Councilmember Andrew Piel; Allen Councilmember Gary Caplinger; Corinth Mayor Bill Heidemann; Plano Councilmember Kayci Prince; Erath County Judge Alfonso Campos; Burleson Mayor, Ken Shetter; and Rowlett Mayor Tammy Dana-Bashian. The Honorable State Representative Yvonne Davis, District 111 is the NCTCOG Ex Officio member.

By Dawn Redig, Blue Ribbon News.

Our print edition is delivered free to ~15,500 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or