City of Rockwall to hold election May 1, 2021 for Mayor, three City Council members

City of Rockwall to hold election May 1, 2021 for Mayor, three City Council members

Early voting scheduled for April 19 – 27 (excluding Sunday)

Election Day voting to be held May 1 from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

ROCKWALL, TX – Jan. 13, 2021 – The City of Rockwall will call an election to be held on May 1, 2021 for the purpose of electing the Mayor and three City Councilmembers – one each for Places 1, 3 and 5.

Terms for Rockwall City Councilmembers are for a period of two years. Incumbents Bennie Daniels (Place 1) and Dana Macalik (Place 5) are eligible to run for re-election if they so desire.

Mayor Jim Pruitt and Councilmember Kevin Fowler (Place 3) are both ‘termed out’ in their current seats. In addition to the Mayor’s seat and Places 1, 3, and 5, a one-year term associated with Seat 6, currently occupied by Councilmember Anna Campbell, will also appear on the ballot. Ms. Campbell was appointed to the Rockwall City Council in June of 2020 to fill a vacancy until the next general election.

An informational candidate packet for residents who may be interested in learning more about running for Rockwall City Council is available both at City Hall (385 S. Goliad on the 3rd floor, City Secretary’s Office) and online at on the City Secretary’s webpage. The period for submitting an application for a place on the May 1 ballot runs from Wednesday, January 13 through Friday, February 12.

It is anticipated that the City of Rockwall’s municipal election will again be administered by the Rockwall County Elections Administrator, as has been done in past years. Early voting is scheduled for Monday, April 19 through Tuesday, April 27 (excluding Sunday). Election Day voting will be held Saturday, May 1 from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Specific information concerning polling locations and early voting times will be made available on our city website and on the county Election Administrator’s website as soon as those details become available.

Applications for ballots by mail must be requested from and mailed to the Rockwall County Elections Administrator’s Office and received no later than the close of business (5:00 p.m.) on April 20. The address is 915 Whitmore Dr., Suite D, Rockwall, TX 75087.

Please direct questions regarding ballots by mail, voter registration, designated voting locations, voter identification requirements, absentee voting, precincts, etc. to the county elections office by calling (972) 204-6200 or visiting online. Information concerning the Rockwall City Council municipal election may be directed to the City Secretary, Kristy Cole, by calling (972) 772-6406 or by email at .

Our print edition is delivered free to ~15,500 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or