Texas Silver-Haired Legislature candidates sought


ROCKWALL, TX – Jan. 8, 20201 – Texas Silver-Haired Legislature is a non-partisan statewide body of dedicated persons (60 years of age and older) elected to draft proposed legislation on aging issues.  Legislative issues developed by the TSHL are presented for active consideration as bills to the Texas Legislature.  Silver-Haired Legislators are elected for two-year terms, with the election held April 30, 2021.

The electoral process for the Nineteenth Texas Silver-Haired Legislature in the counties of Collin, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell and Wise will be coordinated by the North Central Texas Council of Governments Area Agency on Aging.  This 14-county region is divided into five election districts with one representative from each district to be elected to serve in the TSHL.  The five districts are:

District 1:         Denton and Wise counties

District 2:         Collin, Hunt, Kaufman and Rockwall Counties

District 3:         Ellis, Navarro, and Johnson Counties

District 4:         Erath, Hood, Palo Pinto, Parker and Somervell counties

District 5:         At Large

Any Texan 60 years of age or older on January 1, 2021, and a registered voter living in the area where candidacy is sought may run for the Texas Silver-Haired Legislature.  Those persons wishing to run for office must file petitions for candidacy with the North Central Texas Area Agency on Aging by February 26, 2021.  To file, new prospective candidates must have signatures from at least 25 registered voters age 60 and older who support their candidacy and who reside in their election district.  Election Day is Friday, April 30, 2021. 

Candidacy forms, petitions and information regarding the TSHL are available by calling 1-800-272-3921 or by emailing mhensley@nctcog.org .

The area agencies located in Dallas and Fort Worth are coordinating TSHL activities in Dallas County and Tarrant County respectively.  For information, residents of Tarrant County should call (817) 258-8080, and Dallas County residents shall call (214) 871-5065.

What is NCTCOG?

The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is a voluntary association of local governments (counties, cities, school districts, and special districts) established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and recognizing regional opportunities for improving the quality of life for the citizens of North Central Texas.

Submitted press release by the North Central Texas Area Agency on Aging and Meals on Wheels Senior Services of Rockwall County for publication in Blue Ribbon News. 

Our print edition is delivered free to ~15,500 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email editor@BlueRibbonNews.com.

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or advertising@BlueRibbonNews.com.