Rockwall County Judge David Sweet Elected New President of the North Central Texas Council of Governments for 2021-2022

ROCKWALL, TX, June 12, 2021 — Rockwall County Judge, David Sweet, was elected President of the North Central Texas Council of Governments’ (NCTCOG) Executive Board at NCTCOG’s 55th annual General Assembly, which was held virtually on Friday, June 4.  The Executive Board is the policy-making body of the Council of Governments which serves the 16 North Central Texas counties of Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant and Wise.  Judge Sweet will lead the 17-member board for the next 12 months.

President Sweet was first elected to NCTCOG’s Executive Board in 2018 and served as Director, Secretary-Treasurer, and Vice President before being elected President. He assumes the leadership of NCTCOG from Town of Prosper Mayor Ray Smith, who was elected to the one-year term in 2020.   Mayor Smith will continue to serve on the NCTCOG Board as Past President.  City of Corinth Mayor, Bill Heidemann, was elected Secretary/Treasurer.

Judge Sweet is currently serving his second term as the Rockwall County Judge after reelection in 2018. Prior to his 2014 election, he served four years as the Mayor of the City of Rockwall after being a member of the city council for two terms. He was employed as a Sales Manager for 20 years with Coca Cola, Pepsi and Bimbo Bakeries.

The Sweet family attends First Baptist Church of Rockwall. Judge Sweet serves on the Board of Directors for the Rockwall Area Chamber of Commerce and is a member of the Rockwall Noon Rotary. In addition to being a member of the Rowlett and Royse City Chambers of Commerce, he is a former board member of Rockwall Meals on Wheels, Boys & Girls Club of Rockwall County and the Rockwall County YMCA. He is also part of the broadcast team responsible for broadcasting Rockwall ISD sporting events.

In addition to the officers, 11 Directors were elected to the 17 member NCTCOG board including, Dallas County Judge, Clay Jenkins; Tarrant County Judge, Glen Whitley; Collin County Judge, Chris Hill; Denton County Commissioner, Bobbie Mitchell; City of Arlington Councilmember Andrew Piel; City of Terrell Mayor, Rick Carmona; City of Plano Councilmember, Kayci Prince; Erath County Judge, Alfonso Campos; City of Rowlett Mayor, Tammy Dana-Bashian; City of Lancaster Mayor, Clyde Harriston; City of Grand Prairie Mayor Pro Tem, Jorja Clemson; and The Honorable State Representative Dr. Glenn Rogers, District 60 is the NCTCOG Ex Officio member. 

What is NCTCOG?

The North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) is a voluntary association of local governments (counties, cities, school districts, and special districts) established in 1966 to assist local governments in planning for common needs, cooperating for mutual benefit, and recognizing regional opportunities for improving the quality of life for the citizens of North Central Texas.

NCTCOG serves a 16-county region of North Central Texas, which is centered in and around the two urban centers of Dallas and Fort Worth. Currently, NCTCOG has 240 member governments including 16 counties, 170 cities, 24 school districts and 30 special districts.

Submitted press release, edited for publication in Blue Ribbon News. 

Our print edition is delivered free to ~15,500 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or