City of Rockwall to call for May 7, 2022 General Election to elect three City Councilmembers

City of Rockwall to call for May 7, 2022 General Election to elect three City Councilmembers

ROCKWALL, TX (Dec. 17, 2021) The City of Rockwall will soon be calling an election to be held on May 7, 2022 for the purpose of electing three City Councilmembers – one each for Places 2, 4 and 6. Terms for all elected Rockwall City Councilmembers are for a period of two years. Two of the three incumbents – Trace Johannesen, Place 4; and Anna Campbell, Place 6 – are eligible to run for re-election if so desired. Councilmember John Hohenshelt, who currently serves in Place 2, will be ‘terming out,’ having served the maximum allowable length of time according to the city charter.

An informational candidate packet for residents who may be interested in learning more about running for Rockwall City Council is available both at City Hall (385 S. Goliad on the 3rd floor, City Secretary’s Office) and online for download via the City Secretary’s webpage at The period for submitting an application for a place on the May 7 election ballot runs from Wednesday, January 19 through Friday, February 18.

It is anticipated that the City of Rockwall’s municipal election will again be administered by the Rockwall County Elections Department, as has been done in past years. Early voting is scheduled for Monday, April 25 through Tuesday, May 3 (excluding Sunday). Election Day voting will be held Saturday, May 7 from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. Specific information concerning polling locations and early voting times will be made available on our city website and on the Rockwall County Elections Department website as soon as those details become available.

Applications for ballots by mail must be requested from and mailed to the Rockwall County Elections Office and received no later than the close of business on Tuesday, April 26. The address is 915 Whitmore Dr., Suite D • Rockwall, TX 75087.

Please direct questions regarding ballots by mail, voter registration, designated voting locations, voter identification requirements, absentee voting, precincts, etc. to the county elections office by calling (972) 204-6200 or visiting their website at Information concerning the Rockwall City Council municipal election may be directed to the City Secretary, Kristy Cole, by calling (972) 772-6406 or by email at

Submitted press release, edited for publication in Blue Ribbon News. 

Our print edition delivers free to ~15,500 homes and businesses throughout Rockwall County, TX. Click image to view.


To share your good news and events, email

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or



BRN Media is a multi-platform, full-service creative agency offering advertising and marketing services, social media management, and website development throughout Rockwall County and the Dallas area.