Rockwall County officials sworn in

(Top row, from left) Judge Liana Whitten, Commissioner Dennis Bailey, Judge Brett Hall, Judge David Rakow, Sheriff Harold Eavenson, Constable Trey Chaney, Constable Tom Egan, Commissioner Cliff Sevier, Constable John Benedetto; (Bottom row) Justice David Evans, Tax Assessor-Collector Kim Sweet, Judge Brian Williams, District Attorney Kenda Culpepper, Judge Mark Russo, Constable Randy Parks, Justice David Bridges. Photo courtesy of Meagan James.

(ROCKWALL-January 3, 2013) On Tuesday, January 1, more than 100 people gathered at the Rockwall County Historical Courthouse to watch the swearing-in of 14 newly elected and re-elected county officials.

All of those elected in Rockwall County, whose population now exceeds 80,000 people, were Republicans.  The ceremony included those elected to the four newly created offices of Justice of the Peace and Constable.

“It was a great event,” said Rockwall County District Attorney Kenda Culpepper, who presided as master of ceremonies.  “There was a real sense of excitement in the room.  I was glad to be a part of it.”

Congressman Ralph Hall, who was scheduled to appear, was delayed in Washington DC because of the fiscal legislation debate.  5th District Court of Appeals Justice David Bridges, Judge Brett Hall, Judge David Rakow, Judge Brian Williams, and Judge Jack James administered the oaths instead.

The following elected officials were sworn in: 

Justice David Evans – 5th District Court of Appeals

Judge Brett Hall – 382nd Judicial District Court

Judge David Rakow – 439th Judicial District Court

Judge Brian Williams – Rockwall County Court at Law

Rockwall County Sheriff Harold Eavenson

Rockwall County Tax Assessor-Collector Kim Sweet


Cliff Sevier – Precinct 1

Dennis Bailey – Precinct 3

Rockwall County Justices of the Peace

Judge Mark Russo – Precinct 3

Judge Liana Whitten – Precinct 4

Rockwall County Constables

John Benedetto – Precinct 1

Trey Chaney – Precinct 2

Tom Egan – Precinct 3

Randy Parks – Precinct 4

Information provided by Kenda Culpepper, Rockwall County Criminal District Attorney.

To submit your news and events, email .