Rockwall-Heath Youth & Gov’t students garner medals at State Conference

ROCKWALL (February 6, 2014) The Rockwall-Heath High School Youth and Government Mock Legislature team had a very successful trip to Austin. The students start in August by writing bills, they debate their bills on a district level, and then they have the opportunity to present their bills at the YMCA Youth and Government State Conference.

Some of the students are able to present their bills at the House of Representatives and the Senate Chambers. This year the team returned home to RHHS with several medals and honors.  The students brought back six medals, which is the most of any Legislative Delegation; two Distinguished Delegates from Hyde House (first year Delegates); two Distinguished Delegates from the House of Representatives; one Distinguished Delegate from the Senate; Outstanding Statesman- second year in a row for this honor; awarded Premier Delegation-second year in a row for this honor.

Three Bills were passed and signed by the Youth Governor, one from each branch.  There was tremendous team work from all of the delegates workings, lobbying, and politicking to get the bills passed.  It was an incredible job from everyone.  The YMCA is looking to see if, in the 67 year history of Youth and Government, any other delegation has had multiple bills signed by the Governor. There were a group of 1200 students from across the state that attended the Conference.

President Pro Tem of the Senate: Cullen Clark
Legislative Senators are: Jurgen Anderson, Christopher DiGiovanni, Colten Hervey, Zahra Khan, Carlo Cruzet, Reese Wilson.
Legislative House of Representatives are: James Beattie, Kyle Butler, Carlos Diaz, Cheyenne Jett, Savannah Jett, Victoria Lack, Christine Loring, Taylor Mead, Anna Melton, Maxine Okwah, Charles Pflieger, Hannah Shows, William Lakeland Smartt, Samuel Spencer, Nathaniel Wang.

Hyde House Representatives are: Melissa Allen, Diego Alvarez, Hannah Barber, Connor Craig, Emily Craig, Cecil Ene, Macy Matthews, Adriana Palacos-Blanco, Logan Peet.

Submitted by Mary Thacker. 

To share your good news and events, email .

Please click here to LIKE our Facebook page, so we can reach more people with good news like this!