Rockwall ISD names new principals, new executive director

Rockwall ISD names new principals, new executive director

(ROCKWALL, TX – June 1, 2016) Yesterday evening, the Rockwall ISD Board of Trustees approved the appointment of three elementary principals and one executive director for the 2016-2017 school year. The new principals will visit their respective campuses this week to meet parents, students and staff.

Congratulations to Steven Pesek, named new principal of Sharon Shannon Elementary:

Steven Crop

Mr. Pesek is a 14-year educator, including three years as an associate and assistant principal. His experience includes working with a variety of Special Education programs. He is a belief-driven leader and will enhance the instructional achievement and Leader in Me program at Shannon Elementary. He has served the district as a math teacher, coach and testing coordinator at Rockwall-Heath High School, administrative intern at Amy Parks Heath Elementary, assistant principal at Cain Middle School and currently as associate principal at Rockwall-Heath High School.

Congratulations to Sara Reeves, named new principal of Ouida Springer Elementary:


Mrs. Reeves is a 15-year educator with three years in Rockwall ISD. She has served as an assistant principal in both Rockwall and Denton ISD. In Denton, she served as a math instructional coach. She has strong experience working with bilingual campuses and will continue to strengthen the bilingual and ESL programs offered at Springer Elementary. Mrs. Reeves has served the district as a summer school principal at Shannon Elementary and currently as the assistant principal at Dorris Jones Elementary.

Congratulations to Megan Smith, named principal of Amy Parks-Heath Elementary:

Megan Crop

Mrs. Smith is a 12-year educator with six years as an elementary assistant principal. She will continue to enhance the instructional achievement and parent involvement programs at the school. Mrs. Smith has served the district as a summer school teacher, teacher at Howard Dobbs Elementary and Ouida Springer Elementary, assistant principal at Nebbie Williams Elementary and Amy Parks-Heath Elementary and currently as the interim principal at APHE. She has cultivated strong relationships with students, teachers and parents at APHE and will continue the legacy of excellence.

Congratulations to Dr. Coral Wilkens named Executive Director of Special Programs:

Coral Crop

Dr. Wilkens has 16 years of experience in education. She has served the district as the Director of Section 504, dyslexia and Response To Intervention for a year. Prior to her position in Rockwall ISD, she was the Director of Special Programs for Quinlan ISD, District Coordinator for Special Education for Royse City ISD, and District Coordinator for Intensive Services and Resources/Accountability for Tyler ISD. Her campus experience includes night school principal of John Tyler High School at Tyler ISD and K-12 teaching positions in Tyler ISD, North St. Paul, Minnesota, and Lino Lakes, Minnesota. Dr. Wilkins has also presented and published professional work with the Texas Association of School Administrators, National Council of Professors of Education Association, Texas Council of Professors of Education Conference, University of Texas at Tyler, Journal of Texas Women School Executives and Region 10. Dr. Wilkens brings extensive leadership experience to her new position in the district.

Submitted by Alyssa Suniga, Rockwall ISD. 

Your #1 source for positive hometown stories, entertainment and events.

Our print edition is delivered free to 18,000+ homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email .

For advertising inquiries both online and in print, call 214-342-8000 or email .

Download the FREE Official Rockwall Area App for Apple iPhone or Android.