Daughters of the American Revolution present Citizenship Awards to Rockwall County students

Daughters of the American Revolution present Citizenship Awards to Rockwall County students

ROCKWALL, TX (May 28, 2021) Every year the Rock Wall Chapter of the DAR (Daughter’s of the American Revolution) awards the DAR Youth Citizenship Award medal to one sixth-grader and one eighth-grader in every Rockwall County elementary and middle school.  They ask the teachers and staff to choose the one student who exemplifies excellent youth citizenship for this award.

The select students must posses these five qualities: 1) Honor – representing honesty, high principles, and loyalty, 2) Service – representing individual responsibility to God, Home, and Country, 3) Courage -representing determination to overcome obstacles, 4) Leadership – representing the ability to lead and have good sportsmanship, and lastly, 5) Patriotism – representing fundamental loyalty to our country.

The DAR Youth Citizenship Medal (formerly Good Citizenship Medal) was established to foster among schoolchildren a greater appreciation of the qualities of citizenship Americans must possess if our country is to remain sovereign and independent.

DAR was extremely pleased to present 23 medals this year!

2021 Youth Citizenship Awardees

1)    Celia Hays Elementary, winner- Ruby Graham

2)    Sherry & Paul Hamm Elementary, winner – Mason Shirley

3)    Linda Lyon Elementary, winner – Grant McCutchen

4)    Ouida Springer  Elementary, winner – Brooklyn Allis

5)    Grace Hartman Elementary, winner – Myka Brewer

6)    Sharon Shannon Elementary, winner – Matthew Goodman

7)    Billie Stevenson Elementary, winner – Abby Singleton

8)    Amy Parks Elementary, winner – Marissa Finley

9)    Doris A Jones Elementary, winner – Annaleah Spraggins

10)    Virginia Reinhardt Elementary, winner – Jordyn Mitchell

11)    Dorothy Smith Pullen Elementary, winner – Collins Jones

12)    Nebbie Williams Elementary, winner – Natalie Barrett

13)    Howard Dobbs Elementary, winner – Reagan Hemphill

14)    Bobby Summers Middle School, winner – Logan Gibbs (6th grade)

15)    Ouida Baley Middle School, winner – Laney Russell (6th grade)

16)    Heritage Christian Academy, winner – Sophia Ferreira (6th grade)

17)    Providence Academy, winner – Macy Martin (6th grade)

18)    Utley Middle School, winner – Logan Younger (8th grade)

19)    Cain Middle School, winner – Alyssa  (8th grade)

20)    Bobby Summers Middle School, winner – Marlie Leathers (8th grade)

21)    Ouida Baley Middle School, winner – Jessica Franklin (8th grade)

22)    Heritage Christian Academy, winner – Jordyn Foster (8th grade)

23)    Providence Academy, winner – Piper McIlrath (8th grade)

Submitted press release by DAR, edited for publication in Blue Ribbon News. 

Our print edition is delivered free to ~15,500 homes in Rockwall and Heath, TX.

To share your good news and events, email editor@BlueRibbonNews.com.

Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Advertising: 214-342-8000 or advertising@BlueRibbonNews.com.